Leaders & Pioneers

Al Stohlman
Award Winners

The leather crafting world is a tight-knit community of caring folks. Through competitions around the globe, quality work and contributions to the profession are recognized.

b2zone Artwork Collection Community - Leathercraft Around the World - International Leather Club - Leathercraft Heritage

Al Stohlman Award

The most notable award, is the Al Stohlman Award. It honors the accomplishments of individual leather workers worldwide for their continued dedication and exemplary service to leathercraft.

It is the most prestegious award in leathercraft, and each of the winners has made significant contributions to the trade. Below, you can learn more about the winners, where they’re from, and what they are most known for.


NameFromKnown For


Chris "Slickbald" Andre

Colorado, USA

Leather Carving


Michiko Matsuda


Leather Art

2020Jurgen VolbachCologne, GermanyLeather Carving
2019Honghao CaiBeijing, ChinaLeather Carving
2018Jim JacksonWyoming, USASaddlery
2017Serge VolkenLausanne, SwitzerlandHistorical Leather
2016Kathy FlanaganColorado, USALeather Art
2015Bob ParkArizona, USASaddlery
2014None Awarded--
2013Akiko OkadaKanagawa, JapanLeather Art
2013Wayne ChristensenCalifornia, USALeather Teaching
2012Kay OrtonColorado, USALeather Teaching
2011Don ButlerWyoming, USASaddlery
2010Bob KlendaColorado, USASaddlery
2010Harold BliganIndiana, USALeather Traching
2009Al GouldCalifornia, USASaddlery
2008Cherryl McIntyreBrisbane, AustraliaLeather Teaching
2007Pete GorrellMontana, USASaddlery
2006Verlane DesgrangeFlorida, USALeather Teaching
2005Chan GeerMontana, USASaddlery
2004Al SheltonCalifornia, USALeather Art
2004Bill & Dot ReisWisconsin, USALeather Publishers
2003Jim LindWyoming, USALeather Teaching
2002Jim LinnellMontana, USALeather Teaching
2001Jesse SmithWashington, USASaddlery
2000Roz KaohnNew Jersey, USALeather Teaching
1999Tony LaierColorado, USALeather Teaching
1998Don KingWyoming, USASaddlery
1998Peter MainSydney, AustraliaLeather Crafting
1997Silva FoxTennessee, USALeather Sculpting
1996Chuck SmithTexas, USALeather Teaching
1995Beth BerryWyoming, USALeather Teaching
1994Ava OstranderFlorida, USALeather Teaching
1993Dick GiehlMissouri, USALeather Writer
1992Ben MoodyTexas, USASaddlery
1991George HurstPennsylvania, USALeather Writer
1990None Awarded--
1989Karla Van HorneOntario, CanadaLeather Carving
1988Kat KuszakNebraska, USALeather Carving


Robert "Bob" Beard

South Carolina, USA

Leather Tools

1986Bill GomerKansas, USASaddlery
1985Robb BarrNorth Dakota, USALeather Teaching
1984Roberta & Ken GriffinOklahoma, USALeather Teaching
1983Paul BurnettTennessee, USALeather Teaching

If you are curious for more information about each of the winners, Elk Tracks Studio (click here to visit the page) has put together extensive biographies that are a valuable read.

You need to login to contact with the Listing Owner. Click Here to log in.